| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
Nightowl
Joined: 30 Aug 2005 Posts: 1598 Location: Cadiz, Spain & London
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
la vache!
Joined: 16 Feb 2005 Posts: 10421 Location: A field, somewhere between Brittany and Normandy
|
Posted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 1:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for posting that, Nightie! I've been getting them for a week or so, haven't clicked on any of the links, but did click on unsubscribe, but didn't get taken to any download screen. Is it definitely spam if you have never registered with CNN to receive the updates? I suppose so. I did a scan of my laptop today and no viruses were found, not sure if I should do anything else. I haven't received any today..yet! _________________ Child friendly Brittany Cottages and Gites with heated pool
My BrittanyCottages Facebook page |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
tree-peony

Joined: 01 Apr 2007 Posts: 1305 Location: gozo
|
Posted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 1:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
they're a right blinking nuisance
I've had 5 in the last hour. Not quite sure why my ISP isn't blocking them. It's definitely a nastie LV. _________________ http://www.gozoluxury.co.uk
actually quite nice apartment in Gozo! |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Jimbo

Joined: 19 Oct 2006 Posts: 3097 Location: Perigord noir
|
Posted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 1:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'm embarrassed to say that it nearly caught me. I read a lot of CNN stories, so I thought this website was legimate and clicked onto a news link. However, I became suspicious when it asked me to update my flash player and refused to cancel. I aborted the session and escaped from its clutches. Just goes to show that you can't relax for a second.
Jim |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
la vache!
Joined: 16 Feb 2005 Posts: 10421 Location: A field, somewhere between Brittany and Normandy
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Nightowl
Joined: 30 Aug 2005 Posts: 1598 Location: Cadiz, Spain & London
|
Posted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 4:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I thought it was genuine at first and tried to unsubscribe,but kept getting them...
then my husband started getting them too and got suspicious. He just sent me an email alerting me it was a scam.
He's a bit keen for me not to get another virus, having spent about 3 days last week getting rid of a persistent virus of a similar nature that kept alerting me that I had a virus and that I needed to purchase software to get rid of it...
It was REALLY persistent and took a lot of getting rid - and he's in IT so he knows what he's doing. Every time he thought he'd got rid and we started up again, up it popped.
I got that one when I was surfing and clicked on a link to find about about leaky shower screens of all things.. I knew as soon as I clicked that it had downloaded something nasty.
So we were both on 'alert' in any case when this one popped up its ugly head. _________________ Nightowl
Forever going one step forwards and two
backwards......
http://www.homelidays.com/london/apartment-flat144480en1.htm
http://www.homelidays.com/london/apartment-flat190993en1.htm
http://www.homelidays.com/chiclana/house-villa70705en1.htm |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
HelenB
Joined: 30 Apr 2005 Posts: 10644 Location: Durham/Le Monetier-les-Bains, Serre Chevalier
|
Posted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 4:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Gmail has kindly put all of them into my spam folder. As my webmail is also downloaded to Gmail, they've been deleted. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
e-richard
Joined: 17 Oct 2004 Posts: 3157 Location: Algarve, Portugal
|
Posted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 5:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Jimbo wrote: | | I'm embarrassed to say that it nearly caught me. |
Sadly, I'm even more embarrassed as I found this email in my Gmail Spam box, but still thought it looked interesting. Fortunately I didn't open it as I KNOW I am not a CNN subscriber and trusted Gmail's spam filter more than my common sense - if you get my drift  _________________ ** Richard
Is your glass half full or half empty ?
I don't care - either way there is room for another half glass of wine.
PIMS: Holiday Rental Management made easy |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Big Sis..

Joined: 19 Feb 2007 Posts: 8019 Location: Torrevieja and Norfolk
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
paolo

Joined: 17 Jun 2004 Posts: 3713 Location: Provence, France
|
Posted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 5:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You probably know this but just in case...
When you see a link in an email, the address you see is not necessarily where you will be taken. If you want to see where a link is going to take you, place your cursor over it without clicking, and the real address appears at bottom left of your browser if you are using Internet Explorer. If it says something like www.cnn.com/newsblablablaretc.htm it should be OK. The fake CNN email I got today links to a domain called rustyrecords.it. _________________ Paolo
Lay My Hat
http://www.laymyhat.com |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
LaLuz
Joined: 21 Aug 2005 Posts: 467 Location: Costa de la Luz
|
Posted: Tue Aug 12, 2008 4:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| paolo wrote: | | You probably know this |
No I didn't so thanks for the tip, it's really useful! |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|