Lay My Hat home page Lay My Hat Forum
The forum for holiday rental owners


 
  FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    RegisterRegister  
  ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in 

spam alert: Fake CNN Top 10 tips email

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Lay My Hat Forum Index -> The Workshop
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Nightowl



Joined: 30 Aug 2005
Posts: 1598
Location: Cadiz, Spain & London

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 1:23 pm    Post subject: spam alert: Fake CNN Top 10 tips email Reply with quote

There is an email spam from CNN circulating - if you click on any of the links it downloads viruses/trojans.

see below for further info

http://www.theinquirer.net/gb/inquirer/news/2008/08/07/faked-cnn-spam-blitz-pushes


It has an 'unsubscribe' link - don't click on it!

To deal with see:

http://www.411-spyware.com/remove/trojans

I have had this email and it's a pain in the backside. You'll get them every day.....mark them as spam even if you take no other action.
_________________
Nightowl
Forever going one step forwards and two
backwards......
http://www.homelidays.com/london/apartment-flat144480en1.htm
http://www.homelidays.com/london/apartment-flat190993en1.htm
http://www.homelidays.com/chiclana/house-villa70705en1.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
la vache!



Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Posts: 10421
Location: A field, somewhere between Brittany and Normandy

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for posting that, Nightie! I've been getting them for a week or so, haven't clicked on any of the links, but did click on unsubscribe, but didn't get taken to any download screen. Is it definitely spam if you have never registered with CNN to receive the updates? I suppose so. I did a scan of my laptop today and no viruses were found, not sure if I should do anything else. I haven't received any today..yet!
_________________
Child friendly Brittany Cottages and Gites with heated pool
My BrittanyCottages Facebook page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
tree-peony



Joined: 01 Apr 2007
Posts: 1305
Location: gozo

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

they're a right blinking nuisance Evil or Very Mad

I've had 5 in the last hour. Not quite sure why my ISP isn't blocking them. It's definitely a nastie LV.
_________________
http://www.gozoluxury.co.uk
actually quite nice apartment in Gozo!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Jimbo



Joined: 19 Oct 2006
Posts: 3097
Location: Perigord noir

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm embarrassed to say that it nearly caught me. I read a lot of CNN stories, so I thought this website was legimate and clicked onto a news link. However, I became suspicious when it asked me to update my flash player and refused to cancel. I aborted the session and escaped from its clutches. Just goes to show that you can't relax for a second.

Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
la vache!



Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Posts: 10421
Location: A field, somewhere between Brittany and Normandy

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tree-peony wrote:
Not quite sure why my ISP isn't blocking them.

The ones I got came through my webmail account. I've just checked my Gmail spam and that has been filtering all of them, so has my ISP Orange.
_________________
Child friendly Brittany Cottages and Gites with heated pool
My BrittanyCottages Facebook page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Nightowl



Joined: 30 Aug 2005
Posts: 1598
Location: Cadiz, Spain & London

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I thought it was genuine at first and tried to unsubscribe,but kept getting them...

then my husband started getting them too and got suspicious. He just sent me an email alerting me it was a scam.

He's a bit keen for me not to get another virus, having spent about 3 days last week getting rid of a persistent virus of a similar nature that kept alerting me that I had a virus and that I needed to purchase software to get rid of it...
It was REALLY persistent and took a lot of getting rid - and he's in IT so he knows what he's doing. Every time he thought he'd got rid and we started up again, up it popped.

I got that one when I was surfing and clicked on a link to find about about leaky shower screens of all things.. I knew as soon as I clicked that it had downloaded something nasty.

So we were both on 'alert' in any case when this one popped up its ugly head.
_________________
Nightowl
Forever going one step forwards and two
backwards......
http://www.homelidays.com/london/apartment-flat144480en1.htm
http://www.homelidays.com/london/apartment-flat190993en1.htm
http://www.homelidays.com/chiclana/house-villa70705en1.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
HelenB



Joined: 30 Apr 2005
Posts: 10645
Location: Durham/Le Monetier-les-Bains, Serre Chevalier

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gmail has kindly put all of them into my spam folder. As my webmail is also downloaded to Gmail, they've been deleted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
e-richard



Joined: 17 Oct 2004
Posts: 3159
Location: Algarve, Portugal

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jimbo wrote:
I'm embarrassed to say that it nearly caught me.

Sadly, I'm even more embarrassed as I found this email in my Gmail Spam box, but still thought it looked interesting. Fortunately I didn't open it as I KNOW I am not a CNN subscriber and trusted Gmail's spam filter more than my common sense - if you get my drift Rolling Eyes
_________________
** Richard
Is your glass half full or half empty ?
I don't care - either way there is room for another half glass of wine.

PIMS: Holiday Rental Management made easy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Big Sis..



Joined: 19 Feb 2007
Posts: 8019
Location: Torrevieja and Norfolk

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 5:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well this alert has helped me...Thanks Nighty.

Only cos I looked in my gmail spam bit to see if it had arrived there...... and found a legitimate booking Rolling Eyes

I remember MG saying he sometimes had this happen..Good idea to check that everything in there is Spam Wink
_________________
www.holidaylettings.co.uk/rentals/torrevieja-area/149216
www.holiday-home-rentals.co.uk/rentals/583.html
www.ownersdirect.co.uk/spain/s2267.htm
www.torrevieja-villas.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
paolo



Joined: 17 Jun 2004
Posts: 3714
Location: Provence, France

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You probably know this but just in case...
When you see a link in an email, the address you see is not necessarily where you will be taken. If you want to see where a link is going to take you, place your cursor over it without clicking, and the real address appears at bottom left of your browser if you are using Internet Explorer. If it says something like www.cnn.com/newsblablablaretc.htm it should be OK. The fake CNN email I got today links to a domain called rustyrecords.it.
_________________
Paolo
Lay My Hat
http://www.laymyhat.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
LaLuz



Joined: 21 Aug 2005
Posts: 467
Location: Costa de la Luz

PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2008 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

paolo wrote:
You probably know this


No I didn't so thanks for the tip, it's really useful!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Lay My Hat Forum Index -> The Workshop All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group