How to Run the Numbers?

If you are planning to buy a rental home, or you're thinking about what to do with one you have just acquired, this is the place for any questions about starting out in the rentals business.
wkoteras

How to Run the Numbers?

Post by wkoteras »

I'm new to the VR scene and I'm wondering what numbers to run when looking at an area and a property -- something akin to P/E ratios for stocks. What should I look at for starters?

Thanks,
Wade
Sue Dyer

Post by Sue Dyer »

eh? :) Am I missing out on something?
Paul Carmel

Post by Paul Carmel »

Soodyer I'm with you! Wade if you do find what you're looking for, let us know! . . .. . . . . . . . . .. . .do birds suddenly appear when you are near?
Cheers
PC
wkoteras

Post by wkoteras »

I assume that there are some criteria that are commonly used to evaluate and compare candidate properties. I find such criteria in every other business in which I've been involved. I would think that the net rental income to property price ratio would be important. What else do you look at, from a purely numerical standpoint, when trying to decide which property to buy when there are many candidate properties? What criteria do you use when evaluating market areas?

To answer your question regarding the birds: yes, when I fully understand what I'm getting into, birds do usually appear. The truth is that usually they were there all along, you just have to learn how to see and hear them.

Thanks,
Wade
-Wade
marcus

Post by marcus »

The question doesn't make sense. If you profess to know about p/e ratios then presumably you know about net return on investment and all the associated financial ratios. but if you do, then why ask the question?

Obviously you look at any business in terms of how much you're going to earn compared with how much it'll cost, will it earn more than money in the bank etc etc if financial return is what's important to you