Lay My Hat home page Lay My Hat Forum
The forum for holiday rental owners


 
  FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    RegisterRegister  
  ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in 

Phishing warning

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Lay My Hat Forum Index ->
Scam email enquiries
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ClausP-Campaya



Joined: 21 Jul 2011
Posts: 15
Location: World wide

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 11:46 am    Post subject: Phishing warning Reply with quote

Hi LMH's,

Please read this blog post I just wrote about the phishing attacks that are targeted holiday home owners at the moment:

http://www.campaya.co.uk/news/content/home-owners-victims-phising-attacks

/Claus
_________________
www.campaya.co.uk - Holiday homes world wide
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/Campaya
Google+ - https://plus.google.com/100511907129983898604/posts
Twitter - https://twitter.com/Campaya
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Medoc Bob



Joined: 14 Oct 2010
Posts: 153
Location: Hourtin

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 6:47 pm    Post subject: Good Post Reply with quote

Hi

I have just read this post, If you look at this read it. I would like to enforce the point. If you receive an email that offers a link that asks you to enter your user name and password...don't

I would add to that NEVER click on a link in an email you do not trust 100%.

Any doubt ...Google the link or the base part ( i.e. the bit between www. and .com .co.uk etc )


Bob
_________________
Back living in France ....just 6 short months though, but loving being back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Happy in Herault



Joined: 15 May 2012
Posts: 1
Location: Languedoc, France

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 2:02 am    Post subject: email phishing scam Reply with quote

This scam is hitting users of Flipkey/Tripadvisor as well. I received an enquiry that was emailed to my gmail account, as all my flipkey enquiries are. However, that enquiry - from somebody called Aimme Grundberg - said it was sent from noreply10@flipkey.com via expedition.websitewelcome.com. When I clicked on "Reply To" in my gmail, as I usually do, instead of a reply box opening, a new window opened and it is the sign-in page for my own gmail account, asking for my password. That made me suspicious, so I went directly to my Flipkey page and discovered that there is no record of Aimmee Grundberg making an enquiry through Flipkey.
So, obviously a scam. Beware, folks.
_________________
Oh cheese, how I love thee
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ciapolin



Joined: 26 Feb 2005
Posts: 440
Location: Cossano Belbo, Piemonte

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had 3 enquiries via FlipKey yesterday (never having had any before). I was suspicious and thought that perhaps FlipKey was trying to convince me that their site works as I'm due to renew soon, but I replied anyway by sending an 'independent email' rather than signing in. Having just read your post, it made me think, because these also came from noreply7@flipkey.com but I have checked on FlipKey, and all of the enquiries are showing there, so I assume they came from the site after all.
_________________
Carole-Anne
Cascina Ciapolin
www.piedmont-holidays.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pambon



Joined: 24 Apr 2008
Posts: 1899
Location: Taormina, Sicily

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 4:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just this week I have been receiving Spam mails from a guest due later this year from his hotmail account into both my gmail account and my local server account. The emails (about five in total over a period of three days) only contained a link, which I did not open.

I advised the guest who informed me that all his contacts had been spammed and he had taken steps to counter this. Seems to have done the trick.

So far have never received any Phishing emails though like those in the above link.
_________________
Holiday Apartment in Taormina, Sicily

It does not matter how slowly you go so long as you do not stop.
Confucius (551BC-479BC)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Lovely Lucca



Joined: 23 Feb 2011
Posts: 50
Location: Lucca, Tuscany

PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes I've had fake Holiday Rental enquiries & it was only after I'd clicked on the link in the first one & it went nowhere that I realised it wasn't genuine...
_________________
http://www.luccavillas.com/html/la_fenice_.html

http://www.holiday-rentals.co.uk/p830502
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Lay My Hat Forum Index ->
Scam email enquiries
All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group