Writing a business plan

If you are planning to buy a rental home, or you're thinking about what to do with one you have just acquired, this is the place for any questions about starting out in the rentals business.
Hells Bells

Writing a business plan

Post by Hells Bells »

OK I've set up our website, our apartment is on target for completion, and just to be on the safe side, and to pay for the furniture, I have been to the bank to request a small loan. They would like me to show them a business plan, but I have had no experience in this. Anyone got any tips?
Helen
vrooje

Post by vrooje »

Oh, how I would love to know this too!

If it were me I would describe in bullet points what I intended to do, point out the website and do some informal "market research" (perhaps using the rental listing site stats thread) to estimate what I should spend on advertising and the returns I could expect. I'd probably also do something similar with determining what I could reasonably expect to charge for a week.

Then I'd set up a spreadsheet showing that the rental income with a somewhat conservative estimate of booked weeks would easily pay for the loan after expenses, and show some kind of expected profits for each year.

The spreadsheets etc. would be fairly detailed so I'd probably then write a cover letter summarizing everything.

However, that's just what makes sense to me -- I have no idea if it resembles an official business plan. I'd love to find out!
Brooke
marcus

Post by marcus »

Three years ago the mairie suggested we apply for a grant to cover the costs of renovation of a barn into gites. We looked at the forms and discussed with some other people before deciding not to go ahead (largely because you were tied to gites de france for some years, and because the grant had to be repaid if we sold within 10 years).