Lay My Hat home page Lay My Hat Forum
The forum for holiday rental owners


 
  FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    RegisterRegister  
  ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in 

Mrs Christina Mcquillan

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Lay My Hat Forum Index ->
Scam email enquiries
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Sandra J



Joined: 30 Aug 2015
Posts: 46
Location: North Yorkshire

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:16 am    Post subject: Mrs Christina Mcquillan Reply with quote

Has any one had an enquiry from Christina Mcquillan. Doesn’t look genuine to me or am I being too cautious?

“Message:Hello Sir / Madam I'm Mrs Christina Mcquillan , I'm interested in staying your place for One week, start from 13 Jan 2018 to 20 Jan 2018 for two people , Please get back to me with the cost of one week rent and if it's not available for the date , Please get back to me with available dateThanks “
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zebedee



Joined: 12 Sep 2014
Posts: 825
Location: yorkshire dales

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think it's a scam.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Giuliano



Joined: 25 Oct 2016
Posts: 53
Location: Umbria

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 2:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ditto, but it could be worth it to reply just to definitely find out if she is indeed a scammer.....

Last edited by Giuliano on Fri Oct 20, 2017 10:06 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
greenbarn



Joined: 30 May 2009
Posts: 5972
Location: The Westmorland Dales, Cumbria

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guaranteed 100% Gold Plated scam.
_________________
Our Facebook page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Igor



Joined: 10 Jun 2017
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

#metoo
_________________
Igor lives in Fort StaySavr, a secret location high in the mountains
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oasiscouple



Joined: 31 Oct 2012
Posts: 374
Location: Gironde and Port Leucate, France

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In my view it is worth a careful reply. Last year I received an enquiry through my website for our apartment in a naturist village from a name which sounded a bit made up asking whether my villa was available. I thought it could be a scam but it ended up as a 2 week booking.
_________________
Honi soit qui peu y boit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sandra J



Joined: 30 Aug 2015
Posts: 46
Location: North Yorkshire

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your thoughts. Will reply and see what happens.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jafa



Joined: 06 Jul 2017
Posts: 40
Location: Kirchberg in tirol

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Even when I think its a scam I always reply. Just asking a simple question about number, dates etc. I have found that by replying, if its a scam, you never hear from them again.
_________________
Jafa
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mmg



Joined: 04 May 2016
Posts: 62
Location: Co Donegal, Ireland

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2017 12:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mmmm..., Have you told her you're unavailable Sandra? She's just enquired about our cottage in Donegal for the same week.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
rosebud



Joined: 14 Mar 2012
Posts: 543
Location: Steyning, West Sussex

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2017 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same message and the same thoughts (scam).

I replied saying available and price as listed on the site (bookcottages.com)

I've heard nothing since.

Jenny
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sandra J



Joined: 30 Aug 2015
Posts: 46
Location: North Yorkshire

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2017 9:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got a reply from Christina “it’s okay. Please get back to me with the price. Thanks”.

Must be standard reply she’s sending out because it doesn’t match up with the email I sent. At least we know it’s a scam with multiple owners being contacted and I also got the enquiry via Bookcottages.com.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Lay My Hat Forum Index ->
Scam email enquiries
All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group