Whats a fair deposit to ask for?

How to communicate with your potential renters - how to turn site visitors into enquiries, and enquiries into bookings.
bananacake

Whats a fair deposit to ask for?

Post by bananacake »

hello,

i am new to the rental world and would like your advise on what would be a fair deposit to ask guests for when booking?

i was considering for guests to pay 100% to book but some say that it would put guests off from booking?

What are your thoughts?
KathyG

Post by KathyG »

I think most of us ask for about 25% bananacake but at least one asks for 100%. Where's Margaret?
Kathy
Waterfront location in Le Faou
"My goal in life is to become as wonderful as my dog thinks I am."
e-richard

Post by e-richard »

Since we tend to build price lists that are rounded (like 500, or 550 or even 555), I find that 20% is easier to calculate :wink:
** Richard
PIMS: Holiday Rental Management system
They say we learn from our mistakes. That makes me a genius !
Windy

Post by Windy »

25% with balance 8 weeks prior to the holiday. Mainly UK guests who generally have no issues with this.
Paul Carmel

Post by Paul Carmel »

ditto with Windy, with guests from the four corners of the earth......and a few from middle bit too
Cheers
PC
Tizfata

Post by Tizfata »

Windy wrote:25% with balance 8 weeks prior to the holiday. Mainly UK guests who generally have no issues with this.
Same here.
Different story if you are dealing with Italian, some French or Spanish. Just remind them that when booking a flight or a cruise they are required to pay the 100% in advance.
I just received the montly newsletter from holidaylettings.co.uk that is full of useful information for beginners. PM me your address if you are interested in it.
Ciao!
https://www.facebook.com/lascuoladifurio

There's no second chance to make a first impression
Ju

Post by Ju »

We ask for 25% too.