Days rental starts

How to communicate with your potential renters - how to turn site visitors into enquiries, and enquiries into bookings.
dublin13

Days rental starts

Post by dublin13 »

just wondering how flexible/rigid people are withe day they start rentals. We have our places down as saturday to saturday for rentals but have had a few enquiries that want to start on diffrent days. Is worth being flexible? sticking to your guns? or trying to decide on a different day of the week to start?
kendalcottages

Post by kendalcottages »

I'm just starting out but plan on sticking to my guns. Well... people will be able to arrive on whatever day they like but the rent will run from the day that's specified. It'll be their choice if they want to come a day or two later.

For those owners who are using outsiders to help with cleaning, I think this is the best way forward as at least your staff will consistently know when they are needed.
Kendal Holiday Cottages Ltd., Kendal, Cumbria - between the Lake District & the Yorkshire Dales.
greenbarn

Post by greenbarn »

We're on site, so being fairly flexible is relatively easy, although we need to avoid changeovers on all three units on the same day. Outside peak times it's fine, at peak times it could work against you with odd days to fill in a week that you'd otherwise have booked out as a full week. I know of some owners who offer Friday to Friday, Friday to Monday and Monday to Friday all for the same property, and it works for them.

One point - we realised in our first year that we weren't going to fill every week, and it seemed more important to get guests in and hence build up repeat and word of mouth business, so flexibility was a bonus (but not stupid discount levels, as we learnt fairly quickly.)
pambon

Post by pambon »

We are also on site with one property and are completely flexible; sometimes we have the odd day or two free and at other times it's back to back.