Digital Cameras

The place to discuss anything to do with computers, software, hardware, no matter how basic or technical. We all use this stuff, but we don't always understand it!
Paul Carmel

Digital Cameras

Post by Paul Carmel »

I am in the market for a new digital camera. It will primarily be used for photos on my new site ( work in progress ), so it needs to be good for both indoor rooms and exterior beaches etc. Has anyone got any good or bad for that matter recommendations?
Cheers
PC
la vache!

Post by la vache! »

I'm not an expert, but I've just bought a new digital camera, the HP Photosmart R717 which I'm really pleased with. It has a choice of up to 6MP and also allows you to take little video clips. The quality is a lot better than my old Canon, but technology has moved on! I did a search on Kelkoo and ended up getting the best price at Amazon.fr (249€). They retail in Darty in France for 299€. The memory card was not included but the rechargeable battery was. Hope this is of some help!
Sue Dyer

Post by Sue Dyer »

Paul, Whatever you get I'd make sure it has a battery that you can charge with the mains rather than taking disposable batteries. Digital's just eat through batteries.
paolo

Post by paolo »

Don't get a Nikon Coolpix 7600. We have one and although it is 7 megapixels for about £200, it is a bit of a pain to use. There is a long delay between when you want to take a picture, and when the camera actually takes one. And a lot of pictures are out of focus. If you are only taking pictures of your house that is OK, but when you bring moving objects into the frame it is not so good. I believe these problems are pretty standard among small digital cameras, with some better than others.

My advice is to read reviews online, and you will pick up on these problems from users before you buy. Often enough a reviewer will say: you shouldn't buy this camera, you should buy this one.... Wish I had read them more carefully.