Updating websites (for novices)

Everything to do with using your own website to advertise your rental property. Design, usability, hosting, getting listed on the search engines, optimising your site, pay-per-click, etc, etc.
la vache!

Updating websites (for novices)

Post by la vache! »

I am a beginner at this, so please don't laugh at my supremely stupid questions but I have had my own website for over 3 years and I think its about time I started doing minor text and photo updates myself. When I have changes at the moment, my webman e-mails me the various html files and I update them with word, which then seems to produce html/word files which I e-mail back to him. Does anything have to be done to these files before they are FTP'd?
For photos, do I need to have a seperate directory on my own PC that the photos will be taken from, as at the moment the photos are not there when I update?
What do I need to FTP - just the appropriate passwords from the webhost?
Any advice gratefully received!
enid

Post by enid »

I use Dreamweaver so I just click on the page or the image and then select 'put' and there it goes. I did used to use Terrapin FTP which was easy too. A real techie will help you more but just wanted you to know that you are not the only one learning as they go.
marcus

Post by marcus »

The FTP part is pretty easy as long as you have the passwords, and some software to do the FTP transfer, which you can buy separately or is included with FrontPage, Dreamweaver etc.

You can always test your transfer works first using a 'made up' page like www.brittany-cottages.co.uk/mytestpage.html

Won't risk harming the rest of the site, no one else will find it or be interested in it except you, and you will know whether it works.