help please with new website

Get some feedback on your site or ad from other rental owners and techies. Also a library of online resources so you can make DIY improvements to your web presence.
sammyboy

help please with new website

Post by sammyboy »

Hi all,

I have decided to take the scary plunge and do my own website, but being a complete novice I'm not sure whether its
ok or not ,so if any one has time could you please take a look and tell me how I can improve it;

thanks PS please be gentle !!

gitechataigne.webs.com
gite-poitou-charentes.co.uk
CSE

Post by CSE »

First thing is to remove the background... it is ghastly. Yep that one is a bit blunt, but I could not be any gentler, sorry.

I do not understand the section for up coming events all it shows it when you was booked.
The recent photos section may should just read album? Some of the photos could do with some dressing like the one of the sports net, maybe add some people playing the game?
I do feel you should add some more details about the house.
There a re a few spelling errors dotted around I would suggest a spell check on all the website.

For those of you who wish to see the site click this link.
http://gitechataigne.webs.com/
Never try to out-stubborn your guests.
Don Ciccio

Post by Don Ciccio »

I liked it over all, pleasant composition and well laid out.

However, the following things i noticed in this order and offer them back as food for thought:

1 - Colour of text in top rh box - purple on green is not a very readable colour combo, and I feel the font (comic sans Italic?) jarrs a bit with the otherwise consistent Garamond/Arial elsewhere on the site. I have used Jasmine (font) in my revamp image below

2 - I love the top picture, but feel that a little more sky would balance the photo a bit more in its setting? Maybe its cut off to save space? Also, the bark background dominates the edges a bit too much for my liking, how about an olive to complement the purple you have used.