Who can I remortgage my holiday home to?

If you are planning to buy a rental home, or you're thinking about what to do with one you have just acquired, this is the place for any questions about starting out in the rentals business.
andy shaw

Who can I remortgage my holiday home to?

Post by andy shaw »

Hi,

I just found this forum and I have never used one before. I have a largeish property in Fordingbridge, Hampshire, UK. I tried selling the property but could not get what was needed from it to cover expenses. I originally purchased it for my Aunt who has subsequently died and now I am left with a property that, I do not wish to sell for below the required amount.

I am an existing but-to-let property investor and own a fairly large portfolio and have often considered turning some of the more ideal ones into holiday lets. I have about a hundred questions that I would like to ask regarding this, but at the moment the top of my list is this one, can anyone help me.

The property has been bought on a residential basis and I wish to re-finance it, pull out some of the equity and then rent it as a holiday home.

My mortgage advisor is very knowledgeable about the buy-to-let market, but really has no idea where to go for this type of mortgage, let alone what the lenders criteria would be.

Thanks in advance for any advice you can offer

Andy
Alan Knighting

Post by Alan Knighting »

Andy,

Welcome to the forum.
My mortgage advisor is very knowledgeable about the buy-to-let market, but really has no idea where to go for this type of mortgage, let alone what the lenders criteria would be.
I am amazed you are saying that about any mortgage advisor, yours sounds more like a product seller to me. If you are having to do your own reseach you could do worse than start at:-

http://www.thelendingpages.com/