Online Credit Card Accounts

Up, down, could be better? How to get more bookings is our number one obsession. Talk shop here.
ourinns

Online Credit Card Accounts

Post by ourinns »

Any thoughts on the viability of using an online credit card merchant account instead of having a credit card machine to process the cards?

Actually, a first question is: can us non-Americans get one of the online credit card accounts (or rather one that's considerably cheaper than Worldpay)? I've seen ads for setting up merchant accounts but they all seem to originate in the US so I wonder if they'll accept us foreigners?

Arnold
Hanorah

Post by Hanorah »

I think that you get the best deals and lowest rates for merchant accounts if multiple people are using it. At least I think this is what I remember when I was first looking into it which is why I first decided to go with Pay Pal. I suppose it could be an idea if laymyhatters got together and set up a joint one but I must admit I am not an expert and do not even know for a fact if this would make a jot of difference. If it did though it might be worth considering.
Always Learning
ourinns

Post by ourinns »

Oh, it would make a difference alright. renters.org offer such a thing (US residents only though) with quite a discount on the rates charged for the cards.

What I'm looking for really is a way to do without the 35€ a month charge to rent the machine. Can't use paypal as a replacement as it requires too much information to process a payment - the ideal would be some system that let you just enter a card number, expiry date and possibly the security number on the card to process a payment.

Arnold
mvus

Post by mvus »