How to work out price for weekend booking?

How to communicate with your potential renters - how to turn site visitors into enquiries, and enquiries into bookings.
limousin-cottage

How to work out price for weekend booking?

Post by limousin-cottage »

I am new to the gite business in France - and have just had an enquiry from a French lady asking whether we do weekend lets (for Pentecote - June) My normal weekly rate in high season is €320, but I have no idea how much to quote for a weekend (Saturday and Sunday night - four adults and one child. (My place has only 1 bedroom but they are aware that they would need to use the sofabed in the lounge) Any thoughts/suggestions please? They are people with relatives in our small commune.
kendalcottages

Post by kendalcottages »

It's quite commonplace for people to charge around 60-70% of the weekly rate for a weekday or weekend break such as this.

Of course, you want to still be sure that, at this rate, you're still covering your costs for it to be viable.

Have you done some kind of calculation to work out what the stay actually costs you? That might be a good starting point.
Kendal Holiday Cottages Ltd., Kendal, Cumbria - between the Lake District & the Yorkshire Dales.
la vache!

Post by la vache! »

LOL, I'm not sure you'd get away with 60% - 70% of a week's rental for a weekend for French guests!
Don't forget that the Pentecote is Fri - Mon, so you could lose 2 weeks rental.
limousin-cottage