What do you all think?

Get some feedback on your site or ad from other rental owners and techies. Also a library of online resources so you can make DIY improvements to your web presence.
clairelou65

What do you all think?

Post by clairelou65 »

I am new to this forum, and new to holiday cottages, we bought our property in Feb this year, have had a few bookings through cottages4you (big mistake) and ebay/gumtree.
Will chat on the other threads about this later but i would like you good folk to have a little peek at my site, i made it for free on moonfruit and bought the domain name.
All i feel i need is a site to point people to for information.(but of course it needs to look right.)

I am by no means a techie so be gentle with the jargon!
gam

Re: What do you all think?

Post by gam »

clairelou65 wrote:i would like you good folk to have a little peek at my site. . . All i feel i need is a site to point people to for information.(but of course it needs to look right.)
Not sure exactly what you mean by a site to point people to?

Some owners rely exclusively on an agency to market their property and don't want or expect to take any bookings directly. In which case they may not choose to have a website or just a very basic one. Is that what you mean?

Looking at your site I'd say you've done a very good job and more than adequate for the above scenario. If however you are hoping to take at least some bookings direct then there are a few suggestions:
  • If you're going to stay with Moonfruit, do they offer a service to remove the branding (free website etc)? I don't think it creates the best impression with someone who may be about to spend a large amount of money with you.

On the availability pages I'd suggest a few words on how to book - on the contact pages I'd suggest a few words on how to check availability. Sounds unnecessary but it may avoid pointless or lost enquiries.