Free translation service

Everything to do with using your own website to advertise your rental property. Design, usability, hosting, getting listed on the search engines, optimising your site, pay-per-click, etc, etc.
paolo

Free translation service

Post by paolo »

I came across this site:

http://www.thewordsmith.cjb.net

This is what it offers:
The Wordsmith is a non-profit organisation offering free translations from and into English from six different languages. Unlike online translation machines which translate literally, and therefore inaccurately. I am a professional translator and will produce a precise translation at no cost to you.

Whether it be a lengthy business document, piece of literature or short text, your translation will be returned within seven working days by email.
It's a on-page site, no contact information except an email address, no names. The languages offered are French, German, Italian, Russian, Spanish and Dutch.

So what's the catch? Well, I haven't found one (yet).

I emailed asking how and why they can offer free translation. I got an email back from a Megan Owen saying she just enjoys it.

So I sent a bit of text for translation into French just to test the quality. After about 3 days I got it back. It is clearly done by a person, not a bit of software, and it looks very good to me. Only one glitch - guestbook has been translated as 'complaints book'.

It's the bit on guest questionnaires from the last Lay My Hat newsletter. Here is some of it for those of you who speak French:
Fournissez-vous un questionnaire à vos locataires à la fin de chaque séjour ? Si non, vous risquez de laisser passer de précieuses informations sur votre logement, votre marketing et vous-même !