Warning - Facebook account Scam

Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, Twitter, Linkedin, Youtube, TikTok, etc.
Holiday Ray

Warning - Facebook account Scam

Post by Holiday Ray »

Boy, I very nearly fell for this one.

I have just posted on another Topic on the forum here Creating a facebook page for your business about how I was 'logged out' of facebook for no apparent reason, whilst 'liking' someones page, so please go over there first and have a read of my post (10th post down) so I don't have to repeat myself here.

So I was asked to submit my mob phone number so that a code could be texted to me to allow me back in to my account (I'm new to facebook, but understand that this is standard practise (even on their help pages).

Anyway - no text comes through. I put this down to being in a poor reception area. Try a couple times more - still no text.

So I go to the fb help section and after flicking through a few pages, none of which tell me how I can log back into my a/c without providing a mob phone number, I come across a 'help page' which says something along the lines of -

"We will send an email to your account email address advising you how to log back in"

Now I've looked back through my surfing history today and can't see any page that doesn't start with wwwdotfacebookdotcom, so not sure where the page was, but a few minutes later I receive this email -

Hi,

You were asked to confirm who you are because our security systems thought you may not be using your real identity with this account or that you may have multiple accounts. If you’ve already tried to log in at
wwwfacebook.com and followed the instructions to confirm your identity, but weren’t able to complete the process, we’ll need to see other proof of your identity.

Here’s how to proceed:

1. Use a scanner or take a digital photo of a government-issued photo ID (such as a driver’s license or passport), which shows your full first and last name and date of birth.