Advice On Wedding Booking

How to communicate with your potential renters - how to turn site visitors into enquiries, and enquiries into bookings.
Mozzie

Advice On Wedding Booking

Post by Mozzie »

I have been reading the past posts brought up with wedding in search on the forum and noticed that some of you have had experience renting your places out for weddings. I have been approached to do this at my place as it has a large, flat section suitable for a marquee. I would very much welcome any advice from those who have done this. I have asked for more specifics as to numbers of guests and plans for what they have in mind to get a clearer picture of what they intend - waiting for that and will add it here when I get it.
Nemo

Post by Nemo »

I have no experience of it with a holiday rental, but I organised it for my own wedding at our home. Masses of work and lots to think about, so tread carefully.

Adequate parking, toilet facilities, kitchen & cooking facilities are the major issues to think about, let alone what you might charge!
Mozzie

Post by Mozzie »

Thanks Nemo - I wouldn't be directly involved - just renting my spaces so they could use it for a "small" wedding.
Martha

Post by Martha »

I would be very very wary. Our permission for a "small" wedding party was completely abused and we found out by accident when they hired a DJ and PA who was a friend of ours. Wedding venues cost thousands because the work (and wear and tear) is so huge.

People often think hiring a big house would be a cheaper solution and then you're left to find out why it's so much money to hire a venue! Also you may well find that things "walk" with so many people going through the house. We lost a lot of stuff (like all our good champagne glasses). I'm sure it wasn't deliberate but with so many staff, caterers etc around, people scoop up stuff....