Using Facebook more effectively

Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, Twitter, Linkedin, Youtube, TikTok, etc.
tchn

Using Facebook more effectively

Post by tchn »

There are long threads about setting up Facebook pages but little on how to make best use of it. I'll share my own observations and ideas in the hope that others may share theirs. Regular users have the evidence they need from page insights. I am no expert, even if I sound convincing.

Raising reach

Posting frequently is good, but risks just alienating people if it is the same group always receiving it (you can check who has hidden your posts and which post prompted it by exporting data in page insights). You really need to spread the word by getting new people to see your posts. That means you need to get your regular audience engaged - clicking links, liking things, or, ultimately - sharing your posts – so that you appear on their timelines - the ‘virality’ that you see in Insights.

Using photos From Facebook in general, you can see that crazy videos have the highest virality, which probably don’t suit holiday cottages, but great photos can pull in the audience. I suggest uploading an album of photos, so that the audience are inclined to click to get into the album – rather than just glance at it on the mainpage. Really stunning photographs, or funny ones, often get shared. I have a series of photographs of birds in my garden, sheep in the lane and more detail on the interior of the cottage. These have generated high levels of interaction. I need more great views.