What would you consider "a good year" ?

Up, down, could be better? How to get more bookings is our number one obsession. Talk shop here.
John Borg

What would you consider "a good year" ?

Post by John Borg »

I know that this may be an open ended question, with many answers, but not so much as overall profit and feasability etc, what would be considered a good occupancy rate for a whole year? I am asking this because I am new to this business and I would like to get a general idea, that's all.
I have asked "for the year" due to the fact that for me, my property's high season is May-October, wheras for someone with a property in the Alps, high season would be December-April etc. On a personal basis, till now, I will have had 31 weeks out of a possible 52 weeks of occupancy, which works out to about 60% for my first full year, with no previous contacts etc.
I know that benchmarks may vary from country to country, with factors such as competition making a huge difference, but it would be good to hear different views.
Malta – always in the sunshine!
PeeJay

Post by PeeJay »

Hi John

We are approaching the end of our first year here. It is a full 12 month season on the Canaries and we anticipated that a 50% or 26 weeks would be a very good start not having any *repeat bookings* or referals available.

To date (10 months on) we have achieved 32 weeks out of the 44 weeks available. Which I think is a reasonable effort and return from the original 2 website ads.

For the coming year we have 14 weeks already booked and we have established a referal system with 3 other owners on the complex whereby if we have an inquiry for dates that are already booked we refer it on to the others and visa versa.

So far not had a repeat booking despite many compliments from guests on the quality of the apartment and the facilities in the area.