How much to take from the Security Deposit?

Agencies and other headaches, keys and cleaners, running costs and contracts...in short, all the things we spend so much of our time doing behind the scenes.<br>
Sara

How much to take from the Security Deposit?

Post by Sara »

This is my first year renting our villa and this is the first week that I am in a dilemma about what to charge for the damage caused to property. We have had a few glasses broken before that I just overlook but this time there are various items either broken or damaged. I am also disappointed that our guests did not tell us about the damage before their departure.

So the damage is:

1. broken ceramic figure
2. broken ceramic plate in bedroom
3. missing part from bedside table
4. cup/glass stains all over the wooden coffee table
5. blue biro on cushion covers and on the dining table
6. three patches on the dining table where the white veneer has been removed completely exposing the wood (MDF) below. For me this is the most serious damage as a brand new table is now ruined.

What do I do? Would you charge for the table to be replaced? Do I accept the damage as part and parcel of letting the property and just deduct a nominal charge?

Any opinions would be gratefully received!!

Sara
Normandy Cow

Post by Normandy Cow »

Each of these things on their own I would overlook, but added together, coupled with the fact that the guests were not honest on their departure would make me take a tough line.
First and foremost, take photos of the damage so that you have evidence should there be a dispute in the future. Can you guarantee that it was these particular guests and not the ones before? If so, then I would charge for repairs (where it's possible) and replacements (where it's not).
Good Luck...
vrooje

Post by vrooje »

I agree completely -- definitely take photos and document everything!

It sounds like a lot of damage to me -- I hope the deposit will cover it all?
Brooke
A-two

Post by A-two »