'Rust' Spots in Pool

For anything to do with the garden and pool
Casscat

Post by Casscat »

Just returning to this and hoping for more advice. The staining is no better, and if anything has become a little worse. The pictured patch is the larger of two.

My property guy has tried the suggested treatments and has been down to the bottom of the pool with a snorkel and a scourer. The rusting does spoil then otherwise idyllic look of the pool and I'd be really grateful for further suggestions :(
RichardHenshall

Post by RichardHenshall »

That looks to me like the rust is coming through the grouting and is probably the steel reinforcing bars from the concrete shell rusting.

I'm no expert but it might suggest a void in the concrete behind/beneath the tiles that should be properly repaired, with the pool drained.

An interim measure might be to use something like Tufmix 2-part epoxy putty to fill any cracks or missing tiles/grout. This can be applied underwater.
kevsboredagain

Post by kevsboredagain »

As Richard says, I assume it's this:
https://sites.google.com/a/solvemypoolp ... ebar-spots

Temporary cleaning tips include acid pellets in a sock placed on the stain to acid poured down a PVC tube to localise the cleaning. Repair would seem to be the only long term solution.
Casscat

Post by Casscat »

Worse than I thought then :( I was hoping it was topical staining which could be removed with the right solvent. I will pass your comments on to my property guy. Draining down the pool & refilling is going to be a nightmare as I am not on mains water. Obviously it will have to wait until the end of the current season as the bookings kick in from the end of this month. I'll get him to try your temporary cleaning tip Kev.
CSE

Post by CSE »

Draining down the pool & refilling is going to be a nightmare
Hate to bring you the bad news. If it is the rebars that is the least of your problems.
Personally I would be thinking leave it alone and see what happens.