Deducting from the security deposit

Agencies and other headaches, keys and cleaners, running costs and contracts...in short, all the things we spend so much of our time doing behind the scenes.<br>
la vache!

Deducting from the security deposit

Post by la vache! »

I've never done this before, but have to as a result of last weeks guests and the state of the houses when they (eventually) left. I'm charging 13€ x 6 hours for the extra cleaning inside and outside, plus a sum for a couple of breakages. I don't know whether to charge a small amount for the fact that they didn't leave the house at 10am - we had to go in and start cleaning round them while they were still packing and eating their breakfast - they eventually went around 11.30am. Is this going too far? I never want to see any of them here again, so goodwill and future business by word of mouth don't come into it.
gh

Post by gh »

Susan like you I wouldn't worry about word of mouth from them, you really want their friends or family again.

Charge additional costs for delayed entry for cleaning at the normal rate. It is not your fault they left late, adding additional pressure on to you to do your clean properly for the following guests.
enid

Post by enid »

I think these guys should count themselves lucky if you left them any of their deposit - they have played silly beggars from day one - take what you feel they owe you and let them sue you if they don't agree. Make a list of all the things that they did that broke your T and C's

Courage
Normandy Cow

Post by Normandy Cow »

13€ is not enough! We pay our cleaner (thru an agency) 16€ per hour (although she gets substantially less than that once her social charges have been deducted).
Mouse

damage deposit

Post by Mouse »

Why is it that we find it difficult to get recompense even when people use and abuse our hospitality?