Do I need a website?

Everything to do with using your own website to advertise your rental property. Design, usability, hosting, getting listed on the search engines, optimising your site, pay-per-click, etc, etc.
Vicky

Do I need a website?

Post by Vicky »

I am new to this so would like any advice from experienced owners!

I am using Sykes Cottages to get my bookings and I have been happy with the level of bookings in my first year. I am considering creating a website primarily for advertising/information.

Would this work if then on the site they were directed to Sykes for bookings? When I am looking for a holiday cottage I always prefer if I can see more pictures and find out more info before I book.

I guess I just wanted to know if this would be a waste of time and money or will it bring me more bookings?

Thanks for any advice!
Vicky
kevsboredagain

Post by kevsboredagain »

Definitely worthwhile. Once established you'll probably find you can obtain a good percentage of your bookings yourself and therefore increase your retained profit.

I don't think you'll find many of us on here that don't have a website, so clearly there's an advantage. It's probably the cheapest but most unrestricted advertising you'll have for your business.
SandyBeaches

Post by SandyBeaches »

+1

Like you I initially thought that doing our own website was really just for additional information. I was so surprised that we now get a huge chunk of our bookings from it, so definitely worthwhile.
FelicityA

Post by FelicityA »

I second what the others have said. I get a high proportion of bookings directly from my website. I don't think this is because they have found me on a vague google ( they will find me/my website on a specific one of course like my village name + holiday cottage) but they find me elsewhere and THEN google for more details, more photographs, the opportunity to communicate directly with me.