When do you withhold a deposit?

From the moment they step through the door your bookings become guests, and their experiences determine whether they ever come back.
brightmike

When do you withhold a deposit?

Post by brightmike »

So I'm very new to holiday lets. When would you withhold part of the deposit? Just for something major e.g. smashed TV or minor things like makeup on the sheets?

How would go about it if the booking is through HL? Do they adjudicate?
Our property website can be found by looking at our profile.
Bunny

Post by Bunny »

That's a very difficult question. I take each incident on a case by case basis as there are so many other factors involved. For example, if soiled sheets were fairly old, I would make a judgement dependent on the general conduct of the guests i.e. if they had clearly taken care of the cottage and it appeared to be accidental I would refund the deposit and put it down to wear and tear. However, if the sheets were new and the guests had left the cottage generally in poor condition and I felt the stains were caused by negligence, I might withhold the replacement costs. Therefore, I may charge one set of guests but not another. That said, in 9 years I have very rarely withheld any amounts and reserve that for major damage (not that I have ever withheld any large amounts).

Bearing in mind very few guests offer to pay for damage (indeed, they will often try to hide it), for small amounts it's just not worth the hassle and ill feeling involved.

Sorry can't comment on HL as I don't list with them.
kg1

Post by kg1 »

It really is an open question. I think if you follow Bunnys guidelines you won't go far wrong.

As for HL - if there is a problem you call HL & tell them. They will want pictures so take them at the time. When I had a problem they didn't adjudicate - just waited for me to get back to them with my decision. Others may have had a different experience with HL though.
ianthy

Post by ianthy »