Responsive, or mobile-friendly?

Everything to do with using your own website to advertise your rental property. Design, usability, hosting, getting listed on the search engines, optimising your site, pay-per-click, etc, etc.
French Cricket

Responsive, or mobile-friendly?

Post by French Cricket »

I'm just beginning a redesign of our sites (and once I've done that will be creating another site for our new property using the same design ... and once I've done that will be creating another site for ... something else :lol: ) and I just can't decide which way to go: fully responsive design, or mobile friendly?

At the moment my sites have mobile friendly versions. They're not bad looking, they work (apart from the footers, which don't and still need some work), and most importantly they load quickly. Google analytics tell me that 31% of my site visitors are using mobile devices.

Although all the buzz is to have a responsive site I can't help wondering if they're all they're cracked up to be - some figures I've seen, for instance, suggest much longer loading times.

So I've now gone into typical Libran hivering-hovering indecisive mode (which doesn't take much at the best of times). Can anyone help dig me out?
Essar

Post by Essar »

I would go with responsive as it does give you multiple options; such as versions for desktop, tablet & mobile.
I use xara for my web design, a little more expensive but the end results can be stunning. They provide templates sets for responsive websites.
"Write something, even if it's just a suicide note"
"There is no human problem which could not be solved if people would simply do as I advise"
"As for my amnesia, I've had it as long as I can remember"
kevsboredagain

Post by kevsboredagain »