How to get bookings!!

Up, down, could be better? How to get more bookings is our number one obsession. Talk shop here.
isplumm

How to get bookings!!

Post by isplumm »

Hi,

So I have launched the website (www.lapellerineloire.co.uk) - thanks for Lay My Hat users for all their help, advertised on Chez Nous and http://www.loirelife.com.

So the next question is how do we get bookings? I am on twitter, building up my followers, regularly pushing the website.

Any advise? Should I be advertising elsewhere?

Thanks Mark
Casscat

Post by Casscat »

I guess it's just a case of being patient! I'm not in France so I don't know the best techniques for reaching your market, but as a total newbie I felt that I had to get my place onto at least one of the big boy sites initially as I tried to get a book of repeat guests built up so - for better or worse - I went with Owners Direct and received my first bookings within about 48 hours of going live. This was mid June last year and I assumed it was too late to aim for the summer season as everyone would surely have booked by then, but I was wrong. Far more last minute bookers than I had ever imagined! The very best of luck with your new venture :)
kevsboredagain

Post by kevsboredagain »

You could list for free on some of the commission sites. If you're unhappy with the cut they take, your prices can be adjusted to compensate. Apart from your time creating your advert, you've nothing to lose.

Sites might include AirBnb, Holiday Lettings, Homeaway and Homelidays. You can also list on http://www.leboncoin.fr/ for free if you wish to attract French guests but you'll need to give prices in Euros not pounds and communicate to them in French.
Hells Bells

Post by Hells Bells »

Hi, I advertise on some smaller French only sites which all cost a small fee (around 50€ max from memory). They all bring in one or two bookings a year.

http://www.pour-les-vacances.com/index.php (brings traffic straight to your website)