Security deposit

Up, down, could be better? How to get more bookings is our number one obsession. Talk shop here.
claudie

Security deposit

Post by claudie »

Hello everybody. One last question on deposits: what is the norm with regard to security deposits for a small, one-bedroomed, self-contained (well-equipped) flat? I would be very grateful for any ideas :)
Ever the optimist, even in the face of experience.
tavi

Post by tavi »

hi Claudie,

I have a sleep-two apartment - my security deposit is £100

8)
e-richard

Post by e-richard »

A personal view:

I have a two bedroom flat in a block. I have been renting for 12 years and get between 14 and 20 unique bookings per year.
Thats up to 240 times that I would have simply returned the security deposit in full.
Thats up to 240 times I would have had to log in to my bank and type in the guest's account number etc.

Instead, I do not take a security deposit and pay myself £10 per booking to cover the costs of any damage by any specific guest. I am rich.
** Richard
PIMS: Holiday Rental Management system
They say we learn from our mistakes. That makes me a genius !
Essar

Post by Essar »

e-richard wrote:A personal view:

I have a two bedroom flat in a block. I have been renting for 12 years and get between 14 and 20 unique bookings per year.
Thats up to 240 times that I would have simply returned the security deposit in full.
Thats up to 240 times I would have had to log in to my bank and type in the guest's account number etc.

Instead, I do not take a security deposit and pay myself £10 per booking to cover the costs of any damage by any specific guest. I am rich.
Quantative Easing eh! :)
"Write something, even if it's just a suicide note"
"There is no human problem which could not be solved if people would simply do as I advise"
"As for my amnesia, I've had it as long as I can remember"
bessie

Post by bessie »