How do I deal with negative feedback?

From the moment they step through the door your bookings become guests, and their experiences determine whether they ever come back.
Darwin

How do I deal with negative feedback?

Post by Darwin »

I have been letting our holiday cottage for over 7 years and just recently had a couple who I tried really hard to help, but weren't having any of it.
Our cottage is in a rural location. After 3 nights of their stay, the local farmer, put some cows in a nearby barn. They were mooing constantly overnight and after that the mooing was still audible, but less so. We live on site and our bedroom is about 50m closer to the barn. We heard the cows on day 1, but not after that. After staying 6/7 nights of their stay, they said that they'd had enough and went home. Before I had even got home from work, they'd been on the phone to our agent demanding 4 nights money back. My husband and I had agreed to give them something as a goodwill gesture (after all, we have no control over cows mooing in the countryside and we didn't know the farmer was going to put the cows there). However, they had stayed for 6 nights, eaten everything from the welcome pack and had the heating on etc.
Despite us giving them £100 back and our agents giving them money off their next holiday, they have left the following feedback:
"for an October booking this was expensive especially as it was small ,no separate lounge to escape to ,just a kitchen/diner with a couple of settee's and a coffee table at one end . cottage was clean and well equipped. very good location."
They are the first guests to have been troubled by the cows. Shame they were bothered by them, when they live next door to a railway line with trains rattling past until 1am every night....
How do I politely respond? The agent sets the price, not us. It is a 2 bedroom property, so I don't know why they couldn't find somewhere else to escape to..... or what even they were trying to escape from! [/b]
e-richard