New to this - no bookings :(

Up, down, could be better? How to get more bookings is our number one obsession. Talk shop here.
Jenster

New to this - no bookings :(

Post by Jenster »

Hi,
I am a newbie and started listing in January on OD (subscription) and TA (commission). In February I upgraded to an OD gold listing as I was getting no enquiries and I have just put an offer on for Easter, April and May.

So far I have had 3 enquiries and only one booking. I was hoping to have filled Easter and to have started taking bookings for summer by now.

What am I doing wrong? Should I list with more sites and if so which ones? Should I have my own website, and if so how do I make sure it is far enough up the internet search rankings to be worthwhile? I'm reluctant to throw more money at this until I at least start making some!

Links to my listings below - I know the photos could be better and I will take some more when we get some nice weather, and there aren't any reviews yet - could that be it? Any help greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance
Jen

https://www.ownersdirect.co.uk/accommodation/p6038225

https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/VacationR ... gland.html
Cymraes

Post by Cymraes »

Yes you need your own web page asap. In the meantime get yourself on to Facebook, set up a business page and start advertising yourself on there- plenty of groups you can join and advertise on. That's where the majority of my bookings are coming from. I get nothing from OD or HL. Won't cost you anything either.

One thing I have learned is that you can't just list on the big sites and hope for the best.