Targeting crafty people...

Up, down, could be better? How to get more bookings is our number one obsession. Talk shop here.
Emmy

Targeting crafty people...

Post by Emmy »

Apologies for posting this in two places... I really wasn't sure which place was best...
I'm new to all this - we opened in July. We are in Charente, France and have 2 gites and will be offering B&B as well. However, my main focus is going to be Sewing /Textiles holidays and retreats and I was hoping for a few suggestions about how I might go about targeting specific groups of people, please. I'm thinking specifically, now, for the UK market (will post in "UK" section too).

I've advertised on FB groups directed at people living in France and am very pleased with initial feedback both for regular workshops (though actual signing-up might not be as healthy as enquiries!) and weekend/weekly holidays. I've also had a booking from a lady in Spain who found my personal website. What I thought you might be able to help with... Any ideas, apart from very expensive/ unaffordable magazine advertising? I'd really appreciate any ideas at all!

I've been self-employed before, as a designer-maker, and I like the idea of advertising to people who don't realise they want what you're selling until they see an advert for it, if you see what I mean... Where they're actively looking for a Sewing holiday - they might well find my website - but I want to try to target people interested in sewing who might think "Now there's a good idea....".
PW in Polemi

Post by PW in Polemi »

How about contacting the WI in UK?
Dogs have masters. Cats have slaves!
Nemo

Post by Nemo »

facebook crafting groups. There are loads, but approach the admins directly first and get their interest. If they like the sound of it, they will be more willing to allow you to advertise it. Many groups just don't allow advertising.