Calling on your experience

For topics that are specific to France, please go here.
sunny fields

Post by sunny fields »

I know this topic has probably been covered numerous times but times change and so do viewpoints.
I am an Aussie owner of a one bedroom apartment in the Touraine. I have relied on word-of-mouth Aussie renters since 2008. However, since 2016 I have had absolutely no rentals and this year zilch.
I am now looking to find a suitable website to advertise our rental property. I am totally new to payments internationally. Also the time zone difference can be difficult for communications as I live in Australia. I do not have a manager but have a cleaner who keeps an eye on the property.
I am wanting to find a booking website that is straightforward in its owner/renter arrangements. I had a very successful, no hassle rentals over the years, but I was dealing directly with them and holding their hand to ensure that they had a wonderful time in our apartment.
Any advice is greatly appreciated.
My personal website is also looking a little dated, which I am currently upgrading.
loirevillageescape.com
zebedee

Post by zebedee »

Is there another owner locally that would manage the bookings for you?
sunny fields

Post by sunny fields »

They don't want the competition. Most of them are on AirBnB and and Tripadvisor but they don't seem to have much in their calendars.
Perhaps it is that our town is not widely known and isn't on the tourist radar.
dorie

Post by dorie »

Hi

I think you should try airbnb and flipkey, nothing to lose and your place is attractive, especially to the american market

Also, make it clearer on your website where you are. I had to go look on google map and I know the area quite well. Most people would have given up by that point and found somewhere else