Want to change from free wordpress.com site to wordpress.org

Everything to do with using your own website to advertise your rental property. Design, usability, hosting, getting listed on the search engines, optimising your site, pay-per-click, etc, etc.
golfing girl

Want to change from free wordpress.com site to wordpress.org

Post by golfing girl »

Hi
Have been using the free, wordpress .com for 7 years but need to be able to put in plugins and that is not an option with wordpress.com, so need to move my site to wordpress.org.
Has anyone had a similar experience? did you do it yourselves? or use someone to do it? Who did you use to host your new wordpress.org site? Any thoughts, most appreciated
I wish I was on the golf course
JaneS

Post by JaneS »

I am not an expert but if you can build your site yourself, you will know how it works, have more control and be able to amend and change without having to wait for a web designer, who maybe more interested in the design, look and feel of your site rather than the purpose it is intended for. However, it takes time which you may not have.

If your site is 7 years old, you may wish to consider an update with a new site/theme rather than migrate an old one. You can still keep your old site in operation while building your new one.

There are many hosting companies out there that offer managed Wordpress hosting, InMotion, Hostgator, WPEngine and SiteGround. I use SiteGround and find them excellent; you get what you pay for. I have SiteGround's Go Geek level of hosting and https for my website. Their customer service is exactly as the reviews say. I also like the fact that I could choose where the server hosting my website was located. I see little point, for example, in having the host server in US, if my market is in Europe. SiteGround will also migrate a site if you wish as will most host providers.