Take credit cards on personal website

Everything to do with using your own website to advertise your rental property. Design, usability, hosting, getting listed on the search engines, optimising your site, pay-per-click, etc, etc.
mousey

Take credit cards on personal website

Post by mousey »

Hi, newbie here. We have just set up a personal website for our villa rental in Tenerife
We need to be able to take credit cards but not through Paypal as they charge 3.4%
Please can anyone recommend a credit card system?
Hells Bells

Post by Hells Bells »

Waveapps and Stripe (1.4%) might be worth a look.

www.waveapps.com
mousey

Post by mousey »

thanks had a look at stripe but no phone number on their website
thinking of using avaibook.com does anyone have any experience of these accepting your credit cards
Bordering

Post by Bordering »

Another one worth looking at is http://www.freetobook.com/

Stripe doesn't necessarily have to be integrated into a booking system. You can create an account, verify it to make it live, and then use it to manually process payments from card numbers provided to you by guests.
CSE

Post by CSE »

our web hosting sent an email just last week about this subject.
If you wish to take CC details then maybe you should also read this lot of "paper work"
https://www.pcisecuritystandards.org/document_library
This covers via your own website or third party ones as being suggested above.
Talking of which, do not all of these CC processing services charge commission?
Never try to out-stubborn your guests.
Nemo

Post by Nemo »

Forget Stripe, that's the backroom of Wave. You want Wave invoicing. 1.4% for UK and Europe based cards. You just send an invoice to the guest, they pay, the funds arrive in your Wave account and when you want them you create a payout from Stripe which as I said handles the back end of Wave.

https://www.waveapps.com/invoice/

https://www.waveapps.com/payments/
Bordering

Post by Bordering »