Working tax credits

Agencies and other headaches, keys and cleaners, running costs and contracts...in short, all the things we spend so much of our time doing behind the scenes.<br>
sas401

Working tax credits

Post by sas401 »

I have been letting out our holiday cottage for nearly 2 years now. Realised a few weeks ago I should be claiming working tax credits while income is low in first few years so submitted application. Five weeks on, I got a snotty phonecall from someone in the WTC section. Basically she had made her mind up that renting one cottage did not substitute as a business and therefore she just classed it as an extra income (therefore not eligible for WTC). She was quite persistant that despite me stating that I did at minimum 18 hrs a week with cleaning, advertising, general grounds maintainence, she reckoned none of that consituted "running" a business.
Now I have had a wonderfully long form arrive basically wanting to every last detail, several weeks work just getting all they need together. Is this right?
Has anyone else had the same experience?
anya752000

Post by anya752000 »

I know they have tightened up on working tax credits for self-employed people. If you run your own business you will be asked to provide lots of information so they can decide that you are running a profitable business (or aiming to be profitable) and it is not a hobby (their word not mine!)
kg1

Post by kg1 »

Do you pay Business rates?
zebedee

Post by zebedee »

Hopefully someone who is an accountant will respond to this thread and put right if I am saying the wrong thing.

I use an accountant now, but unless something has dramatically changed, on your tax return, the income and expenditure from your holiday let is classed as "unearned income".

This means that you get no credit for any time that you spend on advertising, liaising with guests etc. You cannot take a fee for this.