T&C's - Liabilities, Guests or Owners?

Agencies and other headaches, keys and cleaners, running costs and contracts...in short, all the things we spend so much of our time doing behind the scenes.<br>
Drax

T&C's - Liabilities, Guests or Owners?

Post by Drax »

Because it is a quiet time of the year I have decided to review my terms and conditions for my guests.
Admittedly they are currently quite sparse in content and for inspiration I have looked on other holiday home sites T&C's. (I know, I know it is a form of plagiarism but what the heck)
I noticed that on one of them they have stated the following;
"Use of the cottage is entirely at the holiday-makers risk and no liability is accepted for loss, damage, sickness or injury, howsoever caused which may be sustained during the holiday to any member of the party, any car and its contents or any possessions of the holiday-makers".
Have other members on this site got something similar on their T&C's?
I am no lawyer but I would have thought that, especially in todays litigatious climate, it is not worth the paper it is written on.
It would be interesting to know other peoples knowledge or expertise on this matter.
Keep your powder dry.
e-richard

Re: T&C's - Liabilities, Guests or Owners?

Post by e-richard »

Drax wrote:...I am no lawyer but I would have thought that, especially in todays litigatious climate, it is not worth the paper it is written on..
IANAL but I too think you are right.

On the other hand, its not at all difficult to arrange hosts insurance that includes £5m or even £10m of public liability insurance.

Of course, now you just need to worry about the tiny tiny small print list of exclusions so prevalent in modern insurance policies and so outrageously improper.
** Richard
PIMS: Holiday Rental Management system
They say we learn from our mistakes. That makes me a genius !
teapot

Post by teapot »

e-richard wrote: