Pricing structure

If you are planning to buy a rental home, or you're thinking about what to do with one you have just acquired, this is the place for any questions about starting out in the rentals business.
SaltyT

Pricing structure

Post by SaltyT »

Hello all
Newbie here. I have been reading the forums and it is most informative. Helpful topics and hints - that I had not thought of.

I do have a question, that the other half and me disagree on.

Our price structure is the same as the previous owners - early, mid, high, autumn and late. We may change this next season - if any of you have a better way please.

But our main question is - the prices run weekly. How do we work out how much to charge for three or four days etc. Is there a typical way of doing this - or do folk just wing it?

I know some other places in our area raise prices quite a lot for shorter breaks - but we do not want to put guests off.

Thank you in advance for any suggestions

Dawn
newtimber

Post by newtimber »

I suppose the first question is where are you thinking of advertising? Most of the large sites require you to have nightly prices or price per week.

If you have nightly prices, then it is simpler to have a separate cleaning charge otherwise either you lose out when someone books a 2 night stay or a 5 night stay becomes too expensive. You need to work out how much it costs to do the cleaning, including your time. It's easy to underestimate this.

If you do short breaks on your own website, then it's something like 65/70% of the weekly price, but there are lots of discussions on this site already that you can look at.
SaltyT

Post by SaltyT »

Hi Newtimber

Thank you for your reply. At the moment - we have our own website and FB page. We have not gone down the agency route at the moment and would rather not if we can get away with it.

Good call about underestimating - as it is time and cost.