Registering for a Tourist Licence

For topics that are specific to Spain, please go here.
ValleyofSun

Registering for a Tourist Licence

Post by ValleyofSun »

I own a property in Andalucia which I've rented out for holiday lets for several years. I'm a UK resident, transactions are all conducted in the UK and I pay taxes here. Like most people I've never obtained a tourist licence - I did try once but eventually gave up - but now the government seems to be getting a lot more serious about this (and HA have asked me for transaction details to pass on to the Spanish treasury). I've emailed the town hall - no reply as usual - so I'm going to go out and go there in person next week.

Other people must have done this, be doing it - or at least be concerned about it. Does anybody have advice? What are the implications of not bothering?

Thanks for any help.
Kevin, Valley of Sun, Andalucia.
Mouse

Post by Mouse »

The tourist licence situation is all very complicated across spain now. I don't know how the process is in Andalucia but my advice would be to put your application in to the hands of gestoria or lawyer. They will be able to advise you and then handle the application for you. The gestoria will also be able to advise and do your tax returns.

If you want an idea of the process before you apply then I think it's Spain-Holiday who have an excellent guide on their rental site that explains each regions requirements.

Good luck
Mousie
x
Mouse

Post by Mouse »

Posted twice
Last edited by Mouse on Fri Jan 18, 2019 1:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
costa-brava

Post by costa-brava »

Like "Mouse" I am not in Andalucia but I can tell you 1000% that you need a licence. But if you own a property in Spain I am positive that you should already be doing a Spanish tax declaration and paying a small capital gains tax regardless of whether you pay taxes in the UK, And you MUST declare your holiday rental earnings here in Spain. This is not new.