Sky TV/Broadband

Agencies and other headaches, keys and cleaners, running costs and contracts...in short, all the things we spend so much of our time doing behind the scenes.<br>
Cam

Sky TV/Broadband

Post by Cam »

Hi,

I am new to the Holiday Let game. We are in the process of buying our first property that we intend to use as a holiday let.

In preparation for getting the property ready for letting I intended to install Sky TV & Broadband. I was speaking on the phone to a sales person to decide what broadband speed I could get, etc. and casually mentioned that I was intending to use the property as a holiday let. At that point the sales person said that they could not allow me to install Sky in a holiday let because of data protection issues. The example they gave me was that someone letting the property could use the installed phone line to make a call. I could then log on at some later date and view what calls and to where they had made them.

I did point out that there would not be a phone in the property and their response was, "They could bring a phone with them"

At this point I wished them well and ended the call.

Has anyone had similar issues with Sky?

Next time I call them I won't mention the holiday let !!

Thanks

Cam
newtimber

Post by newtimber »

If you read the terms and conditions of the Sky broadband:-
2.1 Sky Broadband is for private use by you and members of your household only.
Sky do a business product which is much more expensive.

You can break all your agreements, but if you are found out and your guests have been doing something illegal, you personally will be likely to be in much more serious trouble.
zebedee

Post by zebedee »

Hello Cam,
I’m not sure where your property is (UK??).

Do you really need Sky ? We have freesat tv which provides extra channels at no monthly cost, and smart TVs/DVDs which guests can use to log on to their own Netflix, Amazon accounts etc.