occupancy rates

If you are planning to buy a rental home, or you're thinking about what to do with one you have just acquired, this is the place for any questions about starting out in the rentals business.
hippyer

occupancy rates

Post by hippyer »

Hello people, I am a first time poster.

I am contemplating buying properties for holiday lets. My plan was always to go down the buy to let route, but I find it is too hands off (I have one buy to let already). Also, I quite like the idea of eventually running a property management company once I have some experience of managing my own properties.

I live in a tourist town so I figure that this is something I can take advantage of and do successfully. My first curiosity is to learn how to find out occupancy rates for my specific area that others are achieving. Then I can do some back of the envelope maths in order to determine what kind of profit I can hope to make.

Could anybody shed any light on how I might be able to learn this? I googled and came across a website called alltherooms. Has anybody used this and would you recommend it?
Cymraes

Post by Cymraes »

Use google to look at the local competition or AirBnB of course.

Don't confuse occupancy with profit though - fewer weeks at a higher price can give a much bigger profit than more weeks at a lower price. Fewer costs and much less wear and tear.

I could get full occupancy by cutting my winter rates - it's not worth it for me.
vacancesthezan

Re: occupancy rates

Post by vacancesthezan »

hippyer wrote:Hello people, I am a first time poster.

I am contemplating buying properties for holiday lets. My plan was always to go down the buy to let route, but I find it is too hands off (I have one buy to let already). Also, I quite like the idea of eventually running a property management company once I have some experience of managing my own properties.