Gardening in absentia?

For anything to do with the garden and pool
kasperdoggie

Gardening in absentia?

Post by kasperdoggie »

I hope to learn some tips and tricks on how to keep a garden alive while not living onsite... I am very new to gardening but it has already become an obsession :) Up until last year, I would never have even thought of gardening - even plastic flowers wilted and died in my tender care. But then I had to put a flower bed in (long story why) and a friend came over and introduced me to the joys of digging in the dirt - I have never been the same :)

Anyway, now I have this burning desire to have a proper garden at our holiday homes - currently we mostly have lawn, and more lawn, plus some trees and shrubs, but not that much in the way of flowers other then hosta. I have planted some perennials (daylilies, salvia and poppes) and have window boxes with drought resistant geraniums and dahlias. I'd love to be able to take this a few steps further but have no idea on how I am going to care for the garden, living 2 hours away and having access to the house during turnover time only. Our caretaker waters the lawns and the plants a few times a week, but he is not a "gardener" - he has the skills but not only he has limited time, I am not sure how comfortable it is to go in the yard to take care of plants while the guests are staying at the property? He sometimes can time it to when people are out but not always...

Another issue is that lack of access to the property starting in June (as it's fully booked) forced me to plant some flowers before the recommended time (i.e., before last frost which is May 31st for our area) - luckily nothing got killed as we had reasnably mild spring, but it could have been worse...