Cleaning: Too much or too little

From the moment they step through the door your bookings become guests, and their experiences determine whether they ever come back.
MYBEACHCOTTAGEFL

Cleaning: Too much or too little

Post by MYBEACHCOTTAGEFL »

Having worked in hotels and truly being disgusted to learn that they don't use bleach (health dept. to protect employees) and that the bedspreads, blankets & curtains are laundered once or twice a year....I think that now I'm doing too much. Between checkouts, even if 1 week...I wash bedspread, shams, sheets, towels, kitchen towels. Futon cover is sprayed w/ febreeze between short turnarounds but laundered every couple of months. I deep clean the Cottage, refrigerator, cabinets, wash air filters, in the bathroom I clean toilet inside and out etc. I pride myself on doing this personally and every single checkin comments on just how clean my Cottage is. The only question I have...since I'm new to the business...am I doing too much? Will I wear out my quilts, blankets, bed covers, pillow covers and more delicate items which are not meant for such frequent hot washing? Will I wear myself out too? lol. Everyone expects clean which I know we all provide but just how many people will look under the bed, run their fingers through the blinds & expect it to be clean? I can guarantee you....doing these inspections at hotels will almost always disappoint you. In addition, those with cleaning ladys who cannot personally check on them...they slack sometimes or often. How much cleaning do you do? Don't worry you are among friends!
My Beach Cottage..make it YOURS during your vacation!http://home.earthlink.net/~mybeachcottage/
vrooje

Post by vrooje »

We rely on a cleaning person since we don't live near our rental property, but we have never heard a complaint that the place wasn't clean.