Misunderstandings with French and Dutch guests booking

How to communicate with your potential renters - how to turn site visitors into enquiries, and enquiries into bookings.
Ben McNevis

Misunderstandings with French and Dutch guests booking

Post by Ben McNevis »

I had thought that my emails explaining that we require deposit and a completed booking form to make a firm booking were clear enough. I've been using the same text for several years and have rarely had any misunderstandings. Now, with a flurry of bookings coming from mainland Europe (Pounds are so cheap at the moment) I keep getting misunderstood.

I'm fairly sure it's not a language problem as some of the people who think they have booked but don't send a deposit or a booking form have excellent English.

Here's an example of the text...
--------------------------

If you would like to book, please phone or email to let
me know, so that I can reserve the dates for you, then
print, complete and return our booking form:

http://www.scotland-cottage.com/booking.pdf

I will confirm when I have received your booking form and
deposit.

For the deposit, if you have a cheques with your euro account,
you can just send me a cheque for 75 Euros. I simply hold the
cheque then return it to you when we get the keys back after
your stay. If you don't have cheques, the easiest way for you
to pay the deposit is in Euros direct into our Euro bank account.

Details of our Euro account are:
blah-de-blah (obviously in the real thing, I put the real bank details but for this posting, "blah-de-blah" is near enough)

---------------------------------

Is that unclear? How can I make it clearer?
Cheers, Ben
www . scotland-cottage.com www . scottish-cottage.com

Visiting Glenrothes? It's one of your Fife-a-day
la vache!

Post by la vache! »