Dealing with spanish guests

How to communicate with your potential renters - how to turn site visitors into enquiries, and enquiries into bookings.
lcr

Dealing with spanish guests

Post by lcr »

Hi,
I am a newbie to renting out my villa.
Just want to know if anyone has many bookings from spanish clients. I am getting so many enquiries (think may be the fact that my villa is where a lot of spanish folk take their hols) I can speak a little spanish, but not enough to communicate via email or phone, so all I really do is, say that the villa is available and ask if they speak english. Saying that I have one confirmed booking (took a while, but we got there in the end). Does anyone know if I need a rental agreement in spanish aswell as english, thank you :?
Chiclana de la frontera spain
Chianti

Post by Chianti »

Hello CasaRosa

Yes, I'm quite certain that in order to rent to the citizens of the country in which your property is located that you would need a contract in that language, as the local laws apply.

Chianti
lollybeth

Post by lollybeth »

Hi

I'm getting loads of enquiries in Spanish at the moment and have used Google Translate to translate documents and emails. Its not 100% accurate so you might need to play around with the english wording first.

Its worked have got one booking in done all in Spanish.

Liz
Bellywobble

Post by Bellywobble »

I'm also getting some Spanish bookings and enquiries this year.

I try to answer the enquiries in Spanish. I keep my wording as simple as possible and then check it using Babel Fish. I can generally, I hope, see if it looks reasonably correct.

I then ask them to excuse my Spanish if its incorrect.

Then write it in English too as I feel I can be more "friendly" in English as I'm not having to keep it simple for the translating programme. I like to hope that they will be able to read the English version.