Checking ID

How to communicate with your potential renters - how to turn site visitors into enquiries, and enquiries into bookings.
marie_h

Checking ID

Post by marie_h »

Hi
I was wondering whether anyone asks for any kind of ID. I'm new at this and not sure of proceedure when sending a contract. Is is enough that they have signed up on a holiday listing sight?
thansk marie_h
Normandy Cow

Post by Normandy Cow »

I've never asked for ID, but I do still post out the details of our house by snail mail, rather than by email as many people seem to do nowadays.

I feel a bit more secure that way, at least I know I have a valid address before the people get the directions to the house. Although this is not foolproof, because they could have "borrowed" someone's address temporarily I suppose....
Kersh

Post by Kersh »

Interestingly, I don't ask for it but some of my guests have scanned their ID card and sent it to me without me asking. :?
Giddy Goat

Post by Giddy Goat »

Good grief Kersh - never had that! :?
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be
goosie

Post by goosie »

We don't ask for ID but we also send out the final set of details by snail mail which is our way of checking that they exist where they are!
Margaret

Post by Margaret »

We have never asked for ID or been offered it. I suppose most of our bookings being paid by credit card gives us some security. I think also that the more obscure your location, the less likely you are to be targetted by dubious people?
Joanna

Post by Joanna »

I've wondered about this and our solution is also to use snail mail for the booking form. If it comes back to us then at least we know we have a valid address for them and everything from then on can be done by email if they like.

We also only accept cheques or PayPal which have to clear before we give them the cottage key code.