Bulbs

For anything to do with the garden and pool
Chianti

Bulbs

Post by Chianti »

It's time to pray for beautiful sunshine and spring weather, as here in Umbria we've hardly seen the sun since the beginning of December.

Anyway...... I've never used bulbs before, but last year separated those planted by a previous owner and stored them in a dry, dark place. I only plonked them in the ground the other day, certain that it's the wrong time of year. Are they likely to grow & flourish?

Another question: Our very heavy rains washed some of the earth away which covered a set of the bulbs. Do I need to replace that earth so the bulbs are always covered?
Chianti

Tecno twit, but I can tie my shoes !
enid

Post by enid »

Bulbs are pretty forgiving - perhaps a little bit early to take them out of their winter quarters but they should be OK. We have masses of tulips here - I never lift them but I leave the leaves that fall on teh borders to give everything a cosy blanket. We have a lot of canna too - these bulk up pretty quickly and can be divided - I don't lift them in winter just cut down the leaves and leave them on top i-until I think the night frosts have gone - again giving the tubers a blanket.

Fingers crossed for your bulbs.
Chianti

Post by Chianti »

Enid

Thanks. I found so many bulbs crushed together so divided them last year, not sure which time of the year, but after doing so had irises all over the garden.

A number of varieties of bulb were all planted in one small area and unless I dig out and separate some as they come up I can't tell which bulbs are which, iris, dafs, tulips etc.

I'm protecting many of them from the frost with fleece.

Considering the amount of colour they add to the garden, the fact that they come up year after year and can be propigated I think they must be good value for money so hope to buy some more bulbs this year. They also don't seem to need much watering.
Chianti

enid

Post by enid »