What should I do?

Up, down, could be better? How to get more bookings is our number one obsession. Talk shop here.
latinguybenz24

What should I do?

Post by latinguybenz24 »

I'm new to the business, but so far I have been doing great. Here is my question:

I made a booking from a skotish family for christmas and new years, but I have to go on an emergency trip to Ecuador for the whole month of Dec. I do not want to leave my home under the hands of a management company, I don't trust them! Please let me know what I should do, thanks. I just do not want bad press or them calling the listing site and complaint about me. :roll: :(
paolo

Post by paolo »

latinguybenz24 sent me a PM about this and I suggested he post to get other people's view on this - just to fill in on the situation:

He has to go away unexpectedly but has taken a deposit on a Christmas booking, which is when he will be away. He wants to cancel the booking because he doesn't want to take on a management agency during his absence as they are too expensive and he doesn't trust them. But he doesn't want the people who booked to complain about him to the listing site where they saw his ad. What would you do?
Paolo
Lay My Hat
Alan Knighting

Post by Alan Knighting »

In an emergency I would have to cancel the booking and return the deposit. BUT, I would find out if any of my friendly neighbours had a vacancy and I would offer the visitors the alternative if I found one.

Alan
Normandy Cow

Post by Normandy Cow »

Why not contact the people who have booked and explain the situation? Then you can give them the option of cancelling their booking if they wish (with a full refund), or continuing with their booking. In their shoes, I would appreciate the warning, but I wouldn't cancel. After all, if I was going to Kissimmee, I wouldn't care whether the owner was there or not (no offence :lol: !) as I would be at the theme parks most of the time anyway!

Good Luck, whatever you decide to do!
debk