advice needed which is the best letting agent property york

Agencies and other headaches, keys and cleaners, running costs and contracts...in short, all the things we spend so much of our time doing behind the scenes.<br>
dizza2560

advice needed which is the best letting agent property york

Post by dizza2560 »

Hello everyone, I am new to laymyhat, looking for advice. My parents own a 4 bed detached property in york, currently let to private tenants. I have made initial enquiries and the letting agents feel it is suitable as a holiday let. I would need an agent as I live 170 miles away. Which agents do you feel are the best for number of weeks let, cost and service? Also my husband and I are considering purchasing 2 properties there as it has good potentia forl all year around visitors. What do you consider to be the most important factors when deciding which property to purchase - is a flat better than a house if they both have 2 beds for example? Is a 3 bed better than a 2? Is location the most important thing or is a property 1 mile away from the city centre as lettable as one with just a few minutes walk? sorry so many questions, bust I am a complete newbie and would welcome any advice, many thanks.
kendalcottages

Re: advice needed which is the best letting agent property y

Post by kendalcottages »

Just taking two of your questions:
dizza2560 wrote:Is a 3 bed better than a 2?
Personally, I feel that - for letting year round - a 2 bed place is a better proposition for a 3-bed place. It has the ability to appeal just to couples, to families, to two couples, to a couple and elderly parent(s), etc. etc. With 3 beds, you maybe begin to exclude the couples market a little and, for that reason, would perhaps struggle a little more to fully occupy the place out of the main holiday weeks.
dizza2560 wrote:Is location the most important thing or is a property 1 mile away from the city centre as lettable as one with just a few minutes walk?