I'm thinking of buying a new property

If you are planning to buy a rental home, or you're thinking about what to do with one you have just acquired, this is the place for any questions about starting out in the rentals business.
brightmike

I'm thinking of buying a new property

Post by brightmike »

This may all sound a little complicated but here goes...

We currently have a holiday let property in Brighton that is going well.

On the side I work as a dog trainer / behaviourist in Brighton.

My dream is to combine the two!

I would like to buy a property in a village on the outskirts of Brighton, like an old farm etc. This would have a house for us to live in, 3 or 4 holiday let buildings (e.g. converted stables), a barn, and some land.

The barn and land would be used to run dog training classes. The holiday lets would be dog friendly.

Ideally the holiday let customers would have their dogs trained by me or possibly dog sat while they are out. This is not central to the plan but would be nice.

My questions:

1) If we sold the currently holiday let and our home we could raise over 50% of the cost of the new property. Would we be able to get a loan for the rest?

2) If the property had land with outbuildings that needed to be converted to holiday lets would it be easy to get planning permission, assuming not a listed building?

3) If you where a dog owner do you think you would be interested in combining a holiday in the South Downs with some dog training?!?

I'm hopping that your answers may throw up a lot more questions too!
Last edited by brightmike on Sun Jul 05, 2015 8:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
Our property website can be found by looking at our profile.
JanB

Post by JanB »

Exciting plans!

As regards planning, that is tough to answer as it depends on so many factors and is down to your local planning department.