realistic opinion on work load?

If you are planning to buy a rental home, or you're thinking about what to do with one you have just acquired, this is the place for any questions about starting out in the rentals business.
ClareW

realistic opinion on work load?

Post by ClareW »

This is my first post here, and I have found Lay My Hat full of useful info as someone just about to start out. We are hoping to complete on a purchase of a 2 bed cottage in the Malvern Hills pretty near our home at the end of the month. I am aware that as soon as we complete there will be TONS to do- doing work on the property, decoration, furnishing, marketing, website etc etc as quickly as possible to get it ready for letting. I have no previous experience so am reading up as much as poss beforehand. I am hoping to run it totally myself (with help from my husband but will mainly be me once its up and running.) I will do change overs , cleaning, marketing, admin etc. Realistically, once up and running, how much of a 'full' or 'part' time job do you think it will be? I am prepared for hard work!
Ben McNevis

Post by Ben McNevis »

Welcome to the forum, Clare!

My answers could be way out but with luck, you'll get a consensus on here. And, you'll spend longer in the early days tweaking your marketing and fussing about the wording of your emails.

I would say about:

2 hours per week for admin stuff: keeping prices and calendars updated on various listing sites, answering enquiries, paying bills, communicating with guests

3 hours per week or booking for the cleaning plus 1 hour for laundry. If you hired a cleaner, they would whizz through it in 2 hours max, but you'll do a more thorough job.

An unlimited amount of time gardening.

about 5 days per year spring-cleaning, gutter cleaning, exterior cleaning and redecorating

And the rest of your waking hours will be on LMH.
Cheers, Ben
www . scotland-cottage.com www . scottish-cottage.com

Visiting Glenrothes? It's one of your Fife-a-day